Top Menu

How to Apply for a CCW Permit in Wisconsin

If you are looking to apply for a CCW permit in the state of Wisconsin, there are a few ways that you can go about it.

One way is to use the old-fashioned snail mail system our forefathers used many years ago. While using this method does leave one nostalgic for the simple days and simple ways of life before the internet, Wisconsin does have an online application system.

In order to be eligible for a Wisconsin CCW Permit you must:

  1. Be at least 21 years of age.
  2. Not prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal or state law.
  3. Not prohibited by a court order from possessing a firearm.
  4. A Wisconsin resident as indicated by a current and valid Wisconsin driver’s license or identification card or is active military stationed in Wisconsin.
  5. Can provide adequate proof of training as required by law.

The fees associated with your CCW permit is the same whether you use the online system or send in your application by mail. There is a $40 non-refundable fee that pays for the application processing and the background check.

Requirements for training are listed on the Wisconsin CCW Application site, but you can read here for Wisconsin CCW instructors who will meet all requirements you need to get your CCW permit.

If you have already taken a CCW class, you can see on the application site if it meets the criteria. If you have a hunter safety card already, or have completed Military, law enforcement, or security guard training, then you are not required to get additional training. BUT, you definitely should. Carrying a gun means maintaining perishable skills. No matter what your back ground or experience level, everyone benefits from frequent training and practice.

Have the documentation showing that you have received the training (DD-214, copy of Hunter Safety Card, etc.) on hand to be uploaded to the site when you are ready to complete the application.

If you want to use the mail, here is what you need to do:

  1. Print off a copy of the application, or send a letter requesting an application be sent to your home. Send the letter to: Wisconsin Department of Justice ATTN: Firearms Unit P.O. Box 7130 Madison, WI 53707-7130. Note that this is also the same address to be used when sending in your completed application.
  2. The Wisconsin state DOJ site says to include these items in your application packet:
  3. A completed application form
  4. Note! All signatures must be original. No copies!
  5. A statement (acknowledging) the information you have provided is true and complete to the best of your knowledge.
  6. A check or money order for the license fee of $30.
  7. A check or money order for a background check of $10.
  8. Note! The license fee and background fee can be submitted as a single check or money order for $40.
  9. Proof of Training

If paying by check, make sure you have some money in that account as the state of Wisconsin will access a $20 insufficient funds fee for bounced checks.

Now for the disclaimer: I am not currently, nor do I intend to become a lawyer. Seek out your own expert opinion in the law. If you have information that can clarify or reform the article, please feel free to leave a comment below so it can be addressed.

Visit for everything you need relating to CCW.


, , , ,

3 Responses to How to Apply for a CCW Permit in Wisconsin

  1. Bill April 11, 2021 at 12:17 pm #

    Can you still get your ccw even if you have an open case?

  2. Steve Pedersen May 13, 2021 at 8:57 pm #

    I recently moved to Wisconsin and I have a Illinois conceal and carry card, how can I switch over to a Wisconsin card and gun card? Thanks

  3. Latrice October 18, 2021 at 1:47 am #

    I would like to have permint

Leave a Reply to Bill Click here to cancel reply.